Showing posts with label MS Office. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MS Office. Show all posts

MS Office | See Right Through

MS Office

See Right Through

Ever find yourself trying to create a "cut-out" or frame effect for a PowerPoint slide? (One shape inside another with the inside shape "see thru" to the slide's background).

Maybe something like this?



If this is something you've wished you could do then I've got good news for you - you can and it's easier than you may have every imagined.

Obviously, the first step is to create the shapes you're going to use for your cutout.

Since it's the inside shape we're looking to make into the cut-out it's the one we must direct out attention to.

To create this "see thru" effect we simply need to set the shape's fill to the background fill. Fortunately, this doesn't mean trying to match colors or search out patterns… we simply tell PowerPoint to use the background and it will.

So, here's where we find the setting for background fill.

Older versions of PowerPoint:

Right-click on the shape
and choose Format AutoShape.

On the Colors and Lines tab of the Format AutoShape dialog box you need the Fill section.




Click the down arrow to the right of the current fill color.

At the bottom of the list you should find Background… choose it.

Click OK to exit to your presentation.

PowerPoint 2007:

Right-click on the shape and choose Format Shape.

You'll be presented with this Format Shape dialog box. Go to the Fill category (chosen from the list on the left side.)



Choose Slide background fill and click Close to return to your presentation.

And that's it… when you place this shape over another it will appear to be see thru.

Oh… and one more really cool thing… if you move the shape around you'll find that the fill will "move" too. It really is a fill of the background behind the shape exactly as the background appears at any given location.

~ April

Did you like this Office Tip? Rate or add to it here:
http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/cutouts-in-powerpoint

Shrink to Fit

MS Office

Shrink to Fit

Ever have data in MS Excel that's just a bit too long for the cell?

What happened?

Did the column widen to accommodate? Or, maybe you got the infamous ##### to let you know that the number didn't fit. Oh, and let's not forget everyone's favorite: the old "convert the number to scientific notation."

If the results of Excel's attempt to accommodate the large data are not to your satisfaction, here's an alternative you can try to see if you like it any better. (After all, too many columns with extra width may cause problems for printing later on in your day).

Excel has a cell formatting option called "shrink to fit." Its effects on data look like this:



What it does is reduce the font size for the data piece that's too long for the column. (Of course, there are limits and if the data is too long, Excel will also make some of the usual changes).

Also, should you increase the column width, Excel will automatically adjust the font size back up, maxing out at the original font size.

So, how do we "shrink to fit"?

That's a good question, so let's get to that part.

You need to begin by highlighting the cell(s), column(s) or row(s) that need this setting.

Next, we need to open the Format Cells dialog box. (Older version of Excel would use the Format menu, Format Cells choice; Excel 2007 users would need to click the dialog box launcher in the bottom right corner of the Font section on the Home tab of the Ribbon; or... everyone will find that either a Right-click, Format Cells choice or Ctrl + 1 will do just fine.)

At this point, you need to select the Alignment tab.



In the Text Control section, select the Shrink to fit choice.

Click OK.

That's it. Just one more tool to add to your toolbox when you're handling long data in Excel!

~ April

Great Office Tip! Remember to rate or add to it here:
http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/shrink-excel-cells-to-fit

Get Right To It

MS Office

Get Right To It

When you open a file in one of your MS Office programs do you find that you're always navigating away from "My Documents" to some other folder?

Ever wish that it would just open up to that location in the first place?

If so then here's the good news… you can set each program to go directly to whatever location you desire when you go to open a file.

I can honestly say that this is one of the first adjustments I make when "moving in" to a new computer. While I use many different folders to help sort out my files, I usually find that there's one in particular that I use the most so I set the program to call up that location whenever I open a file.

If it sounds like a good plan to you then here's what you need to know…

Everyone needs to work in the Options dialog box and, as always, that means different directions for different versions.

Let's begin with the older versions of the MS Office Suite.

First you'll need the Tools menu, Options choice.

From there you are looking for the tab that will let you set the "Default file location".

In Word it's the File Locations tab: select the Documents file type and then click the Modify button. In the next dialog box locate the folder and click OK. Then click OK again to exit the Options dialog box.

When looking in Excel I found it on the General tab and in PowerPoint it was on the Save tab. For Excel and PowerPoint you'll have to enter the folder location manually then click OK to exit the Options dialog box.

Now, as for my Office 2007 users:

You begin with the Options button for whatever program you're using which is located in the Office Button list.

Go to the Save options category and locate field for "Default file location".

Some programs will let you browse and select the default location, others will not so you'll have to type it yourself.

Once the correct location is in the field click OK to exit the Options dialog box.

As a suggestion for anyone who has to enter the new location manually… if it's in a location with a complicated path then you might try to actually open the folder then copy and paste its location into the field.

That's it, you're done. Next time you start the process to open a file the program should go immediately to the location you chose… allowing you to get right down to business without delay.

~ April

Another great Office Tip! Remember to rate or add to it right here:
http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/set-open-location-in-office

Think Twice, Cut Once

Undo - Redo - Undo - Redo... I don't know about you but I find that I tend to use that cycle of events a lot when I'm putting finishing touches on things… especially on one of my "picky" days when everything has to be perfect.

Anyway, it's a great feature and I'm sure that I'm not the only one using it.

However, did you ever find yourself clicking the Redo button only to find that it has been deactivated?

Now, you just finished with an Undo not too long ago, so what happened?

Well, I have just one question: Did you cut (Ctrl + X) anything in between?

If you're answer is yes then that's your problem.

When you actually cut something from a file it clears out the Redo list. Once that list is cleared well… you're just out of luck.

If you haven't made many changes you could close the file without saving, reopen it and start over.

Or you could always do the work to put back all the things that the Redo won't anymore.

Neither one is a great choice so may I just suggest that before you choose to cut something think twice so that you can do the work just once.

~ April

Tell us what you think of this Office Tip by rating or adding to it here:
http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/the-undo-redo-problem

Randomness in Excel

Ever need random numbers in MS Excel for data analysis?

Or, maybe you just need random numbers to fill cells while you work out formatting issues. You certainly don't want to sit and make up data just for that purpose. No, that takes way too much time.

Luckily, there's a much better way to fill those cells with random data and you can do it within seconds!

All you need to know is the correct formula.

=rand( ) will generate random numbers between 0 and 1.

=rand( )*10 will generate random numbers between 0 and 10.

=rand( )*100 will generate random numbers between 0 and 100.

I'm sure you get the pattern. So, now, it's just a matter of deciding the range of numbers you'd like to use.

Now that you know the formula, you just have to put it to good use!

~ April

Quick Access Done Your Way M.S.Office Tips

MS Office

Working in MS Office 2007?

If so, do you like that really tiny toolbar they give you, located above (or below) your ribbons? You know, the Quick Access Toolbar.

I'm sure you've noticed the down arrow on the right side that gives you access to a list of common commands you can have placed on the toolbar, right?

Well, what about some of the other features on the ribbons you frequently use? Any way to add them?

Well, you could choose More Commands and work through that, but what if you're still not finding the things you really want to add? You know, things that would save you a lot of "ribbon jumping" time if they were displayed on the toolbar all together.

If that's your wish, I have a suggestion for you. Simply try a right click!

The next time you find yourself wishing you could add a button to the Quick Access Toolbar, just try right clicking over it.

When the right click menu opens, you may very well find that you can add it to the toolbar.

Voila. The Quick Access Toolbar put together in your very own way!

~ April

See Titles and Totals Simultaneously MS Office Tips

See Titles and Totals Simultaneously

If you frequently work with large amounts of data in MS Excel you may find yourself frustrated as you try to see both the column titles (at the top) and the column totals (at the bottom) at the same time.

You have probably tried to freeze the titles and then split the screen, thinking you could keep the totals in view in the bottom half of the split. But, of course, that didn't do the trick, because any rows that are frozen are released as the worksheet is split on the screen. In other words, Excel just doesn't seem to want to cooperate.

So, is there a way around those limitations to still get what you want?

Of course there is! In fact, there are a couple ways to do it.

Some of you may have decided that the best way to see both the column titles and totals simultaneously is to put the totals at the top with the titles. That way, when you freeze the rows, you include the total row too.

That certainly works, but if you're like me, you just really like your totals at the bottom of the data column. So, what now?

Well, your solution can come in the form of a new window on the same file.

Yep, you read that correctly! Excel allows you to open multiple windows of the same file and each one can be set to display a different area of the worksheet.

With the workbook open, you're looking for the Window menu, New Window choice. Or, for Excel 2007, you need the View ribbon, New Window button.

At this point, you have two windows open that contain the same workbook. To see them both, you need to arrange them properly.

For this step, you need the Window menu, Arrange choice (Arrange All button on the View ribbon in Excel 2007).

When the Arrange Windows dialogue box opens, choose Horizontal and then click OK.

Now, you have two views of the same workbook. You can also use each window's border to resize as needed. For example, if all you want to see in the bottom window is the total row, you can scroll down to display the totals and make the window very narrow. You can then resize the top to fit the rest of the screen, maximizing your work space.

I should also mention that you can freeze rows in either window, allowing you to really have things your way. Titles and totals visible at all times, just the way you like it!

~ April

Re-Posted By Computer Software Tips

Printing The Grid-MS Office Tips

MS Office

Printing the Grid

It's inevitable. When it comes to MS Excel and printing gridlines, you'll probably want the exact opposite of what your system is trying to do.

The question is: how can you control it? Well, you just have to keep in mind that cell bordering is not the most efficient solution!

In older versions of Excel, the magic of gridlines is found in the Page Setup section, so let's go there!

  • Page Setup can be found under the File menu.

  • Once the Page Setup window is open, you're looking for the Sheet tab.



  • Now that you've found the right place, printing the gridlines is accomplished by checking the Gridlines box located in the Print section. (The reverse is also true. You can uncheck the box to prevent the gridlines from printing).

  • Click OK when you're done.

If you're using Excel 2007, you need to look somewhere completely different.

  • You need the Page Layout ribbon, Sheet Options section.



  • There you'll find a checkbox for printing the gridlines. Again, check it to print the grid or uncheck it for a clean printout.

That's it!

To print the grid or not to print the grid. It's your choice!

~ April

What Grammar Rules for M.S.Office Tips

MS Office

Have you ever found yourself wondering about the rules MS Word is using to make its grammar recommendations when you check your documents?

Ever wish you had a little peek into the madness behind it all?

Wish you could tell Word to stop checking a few things that just drive you crazy?

If any of this sounds familiar, read on to take a look into the grammar rules used to check your documents.

In older versions of Word, you need to start with the Tools menu, Spelling and Grammar choice.

At the bottom of the Spelling and Grammar window, click the Options button.

This will take you to the Spelling and Grammar tab.

In Word 2007, you can get there directly through the Office Button, Word Options button, Proofing choice.

Once there, you can select and deselect a variety of options. One to pay attention to is the Writing Style choice.

Using the drop down list, you can choose to have Word check either the "Grammar Only" or "Grammar & Style."

Interested in what the specific differences are between the two choices?

No problem!

Click the Settings button.

The Grammar Settings window will open, displaying the choices for Grammar checks.

When you select "Grammar Only," you only get the grammar portion of the list. In contrast, the "Grammar & Style" choice will have items from both parts of the list selected. (Notice that you can toggle between the two Writing Style choices at the top of the window, allowing you to easily compare the two).

Scroll through the list.

You're free to check or uncheck items as you see fit.

When you're done, click OK and then OK again. (If you're in an older version of Word, you'll also have to close the Spelling and Grammar window).

That's it! You now know where to find Word's control over the Grammar check. It looks like it's time to customize and make it your own!

~ April

MS Office Quick Click Customization

As you may recall, the other day, we went over how to find the Page Setup window with just a quick double click. Well, that prompted me to start double clicking elsewhere to see what I could find!

Happily, I found yet another stop on the express train! This time, we're looking at a fast and easy way into the Customize window.

First, if you're an MS Office 2007 user, keep in mind that this tip only works in Outlook 2007. Unfortunately, the ribbons in the other programs cannot be customized. I'm sorry for the bad news, but it can't be helped.

As for the rest of you, I was able to get this to work in MS Outlook, PowerPoint, Word, Access and Excel. Basically, it works across the board!

I don't know about you, but I like to see all of the buttons that are available to me. To do that, you have to sit them side-by-side, which doesn't work very well, because the program hides the buttons as it tries to make everything fit on a single line. Because of that, I tend to stack the toolbars that are visible in my MS Office program windows.

The result of that is a lot of free space on the right side.

So, there in the free space is where I double clicked and found today's tip!

All you need to do is double click in the unused space next to a toolbar and the Customize window will instantly pop open.

Now, that's what I call maximum effect with minimum memorization!

~ April

Letter Case Mania

Ever find yourself constantly trying to change the capitalization of words or sentences? What do you do?

Maybe you highlight the word or phrase and retype it.

Or, perhaps you're the type who only replaces the individual letters that need to be changed. What a headache!

Well, do you know about the Change Case feature under the Format menu?

Or, for those of you with Word 2007, the button on the Home ribbon.

You know, where you get the options of sentence case, all lower case letters, all upper case letters, all title case letters or to toggle all the letters between upper and lower case.

What I have for you today are a few shortcuts that can replace the Change Case feature and believe it or not, but they're faster than anything you've ever tried!

Let's start with the most versatile choice.

Once you highlight the text to change, use Shift + F3. With that, you can scroll between sentence case letters, all lower case letters and all upper case letters.

That looks great, but what if you want to use all caps and you don't feel like toggling through your choices?

Is there a quicker way?

Of course there is!

If you know you want your text to be in all caps, simply hit Ctrl + Shift + A.

Plus, as if that weren't enough, there's another option you can try. Yep, you can use small caps, which are all the letters in capital letter formation, but slightly smaller than the usual capital letter.

Ctrl + Shift + K will give you small caps, which is a good "attention getter," without completely shouting at the reader.

That's it. Three keys and you're on the way to the formatting you need!

~ April

MS Office Reply to All?

Really? Are you sure?

I mean, does everyone who received the message really need to see your response?

Sometimes yes, but often no. Yet, we continually hit the Reply to All button (whether intentionally or by accident) and our Inbox becomes unnecessarily full with e-mails we really don't need.

So, you must ask yourself, "What can I do to prevent myself from using Reply to All when I don't need it?"

One idea is to remove the Reply to All button from your Standard toolbar.

That doesn't mean you can't ever use Reply to All again, but it will take deliberate thought to make it happen. No more reflex replies or mistakes.

If you're on board with this idea, let's take a look!

First, you need to locate and click on the down arrow at the end of the Standard toolbar.

You'll find that your options are limited, but you need the Add or Remove Buttons, Standard choice.

You'll see a list of readily available buttons.

Simply uncheck Reply to All and you're all set.

One more thing before I go: you might need to know where to find Reply to All when you need it.

In the Actions menu, you'll always find the Reply to All choice. So, if you have thought it through enough to find it there, you must really mean to send the reply to everyone!

~ April